23 December 2014

Then Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy to bear, and the burden I give you is light.” Matthew 11:28-30

Nearing the end of the year most of us are thinking of rest or already on a vacation somewhere. It’s finally the time of the year when people seek to take a break from the heavy burdens they carry and escape somewhere relaxing.

But when the new year starts, we’re back into our paces as we pick up new responsibilities and tasks for the year ahead. If only we could stay on vacation forever!

Jesus knew well that our souls need rest. And He has told us to go to him to seek refuge. As we approach the end of the year, we should seek him and seek the needed rest we need for our souls. In him, we can continue to enjoy lightness – for he tells us, his yoke is easy to bear unlike the yoke of the world. And his burden is light because he is humble and gentle at heart.

If we proclaim Jesus as our Lord and Saviour, we should also proclaim him as the boss and manager of our lives. He is the best boss we can ever have.

Lord Jesus, i come to you at the close of the year. I seek rest for my soul and rejuvenation through the Holy Spirit. Thank you for pouring out your grace into my life and giving me the rest i need. I receive the rest and peace you provide for my soul. I proclaim that you are my Lord and Saviour, my boss and manager. May the lightness of heart resonate throughout the new year ahead.

Leave a Reply

