18 December 2014

We sometimes view people as successful as if it is a state of being they have obtained and that will last forever or be maintained effortlessly from then on. But success is only a momentary victory or accomplishment. There will always be a higher mountain to climb, another goal to achieve, something else not quite right or a feeling of us being “not quite there yet”.

So what is success in God’s eyes?

When king David’s life drew to a close, he said these words to his son and successor – Solomon:

I am about to go the way of all the earth,” he said. “So be strong, act like a man, and observe what the Lord your God requires: Walk in obedience to him, and keep his decrees and commands, his laws and regulations, as written in the Law of Moses. Do this so that you may prosper in all you do and wherever you go and that the Lord may keep his promise to me: ‘If your descendants watch how they live, and if they walk faithfully before me with all their heart and soul, you will never fail to have a successor on the throne of Israel.’” 1 Kings 2:2-4

No matter where we are in life, we have the ability and choice to be successful in God’s eyes daily and continuously as long as we walk in obedience. After all, if success in a worldly sense is in a constant state of flux, what matters most and how success is measured is in how we live moment by moment.

Lord Jesus, help me to be successful in your eyes. Help me to live moment by moment in obedience to you. To walk faithfully and humbly before you, with all of my heart and soul.

17 December 2014

I admit that i sometimes feel distant from God because i put work and other things as a priority over him. There are constantly other things competing for my attention. I know i need to put him first and that requires an intentional and active step to seek him first in all the small moments that make up my day. From the time i wake up, my first thought should be “Good morning God”. If i am flustered at work, i should be praying and seeking his assurance. If i am worried or anxious, i should present this to him.

Lord help me to fill my waking moments with you. Fill my moments with short conversations with you, bringing you to the forefront of my mind every now and then before i embark on the next thing. Help me to set my priorities straight by setting you first as you will set everything else into its proper place after that.

16 December 2014

Gratitude is something we see less and less as the world progresses on. Those who have far more than their parents did may not be as grateful as they should. A heart a gratitude is an attitude and an intentional choice to view our circumstances. More often than not, there is something to be grateful for, and we know that all good things come from God.

Why is it that the church is always full of worship songs and people praise God in song and in words? It must be very confusing and odd for a non-believer to step into a church where everyone seems to be praising God for this and that.

But perhaps this is to remind us and to help us develop and exercise gratitude. In a spiritual sense, gratitude is one of our weapons against the lies of the enemy. The enemy comes to steal and destroy us – he is the father of lies. Gratitude unveils many of his lies and kills off the spiritual darkness that surrounds us when we are ungrateful.

Lord Jesus, my i exercise gratitude in my daily walk with you. I thank you for my health, my family, my work, my home and for giving above and beyond what i need. Thank you that your blessings have flown from your throne of mercy and grace into my life. I love you Lord.

Leave a Reply

