2 December 2014

Proverbs 19:11 “A person’s wisdom yields patience; it is to one’s glory to overlook an offense.

It is puzzling how overlooking an offense is to one’s glory. Many may see it as weakness or failing to stand up for one’s self. Some like me, just find it hard to overlook something that had annoyed or offended them. I never really realized that it’s to my benefit and glory to forgive and move on.

Jesus intimated this as well when he said “”But I tell you, love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you,” Matthew 5:44 and this is repeated many times in the bible:

Colossians 3:13 “Bear with each other and forgive one another if any of you has a grievance against someone. Forgive as the Lord forgave you.” Ecclesiastes 7:9 “Do not be quickly provoked in your spirit, for anger resides in the lap of fools.” Proverbs 16:32 “Better a patient person than a warrior, one with self-control than one who takes a city.” James 1:19 “My dear brothers and sisters, take note of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry,”

There is a glory in withholding our tongue in anger. It avoids hurting ourselves and others. It averts disaster and wars and it brings new hope and opportunity for greater things. Just as God withheld his wrath on us and provided his son as a propitiation for our wrongdoing, this has given many the opportunity to begin again, new, forgiven and free. It has increased God’s glory as more have come to realize the depth of his forgiveness and love.

Lord, you ask me to go and do likewise. It’s hard, but i want to try. I ask for your Holy Spirit to help me. Be the thought that flashes through my mind before i lash out at an offense. Hold me back, hem me in behind and before and give me grace to forgive as you forgave me.

Leave a Reply

