27 November 2014

Paul wrote about the importance to live in the Spirit of God. Living in the Spirit or by the Spirit is one of the most abstract requirements of a disciple. In the Old Testament, we had rules to follow – do not murder, do not steal, do not commit adultery, do not worship other gods. They were straight forward enough to understand and it was clear to anyone if this was obeyed or not.

But in the New Testament, Paul calls us to live by the Spirit. This is not just him saying that it would be ideal and beneficial. I think Paul is actually commanding us to do so. In Romans 8:13: “For if you live according to the flesh you will die, but if by the Spirit you put to death the deeds of the body, you will live.

I believe Paul is emphasizing our dependency on the Holy Spirit to break free from the power and lust of the flesh. Like it or not, we still live in the flesh whilst in this world and if we could depend on our own strength and discipline to break away from the corruption, Jesus would not have had to come and die for our sins. Jesus knew we needed him before we realized our need for him. So we recognize our need for the Holy Spirit in order to break away from the corruption of the flesh. Every moment of every day.

As the song goes, “Lord, I need You, oh, I need You, Every hour I need You, My one defense, my righteousness, Oh God, how I need You”. Lord i do need you more than i realize. Holy Spirit live large in me, help me live through you and not me.

Leave a Reply

