Convictions

19 November 2014

We all live by our convictions. Over the years we have each developed our own convictions that may be different from those around us. These convictions motivate us and push us forward in the direction we have been convinced would bring the best outcome.

There are times though when our convictions may turn out to be wrong. No matter how genuine they may have started out to be, they may ultimately still be wrong.

To live by our convictions is important, but equally important is also to allow the Holy Spirit sufficient access to our hearts to convict us of his will. It is not good to be purely convicted by our own motivations and sentiments. We must allow the Holy Spirit to continually guide us and be open to his promptings because the Holy Spirit is truth and the mind of God.

1 Corinthians 2:10-14 “The Spirit searches all things, even the deep things of God. For who knows a person’s thoughts except their own spirit within them? In the same way no one knows the thoughts of God except the Spirit of God. What we have received is not the spirit of the world, but the Spirit who is from God, so that we may understand what God has freely given us. This is what we speak, not in words taught us by human wisdom but in words taught by the Spirit, explaining spiritual realities with Spirit-taught words.”

Holy Spirit, may you search me and my convictions. If they are not pure and not holy, reveal where i fall short. Correct me in your wisdom and truth.

 

18 November 2014

I can get quite worried or stressed out thinking about things that may or may not happen in the future. It sometimes robs me of my joy in the present but i cannot help thinking about the “what ifs”. Jesus however has already told me where my final destination lies. As if he already knew that most of us would be most concerned about our future – he had graciously already told us that he has gone to prepare a place for us.

John 14:1-4 “Do not let your hearts be troubled. You believe in God; believe also in me. My Father’s house has many rooms; if that were not so, would I have told you that I am going there to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am. You know the way to the place where I am going.”

Lord Jesus, thank you that i am guaranteed a place with you no matter what i go through here. May i hold on fast to your assurance and anticipate this place with you. May i set my eyes further than just the next months or years from now and look beyond all this into my secure home with you.

Leave a Reply

