17 November 2014

Mistakes and failures can often become a source of strength. Peter denied Jesus three times, James and John wanted to be granted a short cut to glory to sit at the right and left of Jesus’ kingdom thinking that it was a physical kingdom. Others fell asleep and failed to keep awake for Jesus in the garden of Gethsemane on the night he was betrayed. Before his conversion, Paul had wrongly persecuted and even caused the death of many Christians. There are also examples in the Old Testament about early defeats in battle that became a driving factor for victory in the end.

But God redeemed all these mistakes and failures. Scripture says: “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”Romans 8:28.

Lord, there is nothing that is beyond your redemption. May you redeem all my mistakes and failures and work these experiences to strengthen my resolve to walk with you.

16 November 2014

I am the type that tends to rush into things or rush through things. it takes a special effort for me to take things slowly. Hong Kong’s pace of life doesn’t help and i often find myself regretting not having taken the time to go through something more thoughtfully.

One of the biggest mistakes i make by rushing is not taking the time to be with God and my loved ones. Sometimes i rush through a meal with them, rush through conversations when they are trying to update me on something important, or rush through quality time that can be spent with them because i have packed in too many activities.

The story of Mary and Martha in the bible applies not just to our relationship with Jesus but also to our relationships with other people. Martha was busying herself and getting highly strung out over preparing for Jesus’ arrival. Mary chose to simply drop everything and spend time with Jesus.

Lord, teach me when to takes things slowly with people. Teach me to carve out time with you and also to carve out time with people to build strong relationships that will last. May i not rush through being with you and people. May i treasure and protect my time with you and others.

15 November 2014

In John 16:33, the Lord said: ““I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”

Indeed troubles plague everyone of us. Whether rich or poor, we are not immune from trouble. How we cope with trouble makes all the difference since this will beset us all and we can never avoid trouble. The Lord told us to take heart in times of trouble because he has overcome the world and every trouble that the world brings. He has transcended the world by defeating death itself and he has given us his assurance so that we may have peace even in the face of trouble.

May we bring all our troubles to the feet of Jesus, for he is faithful. May we trust in Jesus to hear our prayers and lift us out of our troubled times.

John 14:24 “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.

Lord God, thank you that you will always be by my side to listen and care for my troubles. The troubles the world brings can never overcome your peace. I proclaim this peace into my life now. I have your peace because you have given it to me.

14 November 2014

There is a lot of information fighting for our attention today. The internet has increased the way information from all over the world can flow into our little screens. We can listen to interviews with the most influential and important people of today. We have online advice on how to do just about everything! But all this information can sometimes be overwhelming. It is useful but there is also a lot of false or distorted information out there.

Lord, information is everywhere but i may not always know the truth from the lies. Everything is distorted so i need you to put into perspective the things i receive from the world and that are not of you. All this information can even be confusing or burdening –  so i leave it to you Lord. Teach me Lord, how i should walk. Give me a teachable heart and protect my heart from the corruption of the world. 

13 November 2014

I spend a lot of my time thinking about what i want. But i seldom think about what i should want or why i want something. Someone once told me that we should be asking ourselves “why?” a lot more often –  why do i want what i want? why do i do what i do?

Lord, you are one thing which i can rightfully desire and rightfully want. If i look to you and want of you, i do no wrong. You are the only thing that would not let me down. The only thing that lasts. The only one who does not allude or avoid me. You say – search for me, and you shall find me. May your Holy Spirit search my inner most desires and thoughts and reveal to me the things that displease you. Renew my heart and may i want what is godly and pleasing in your sight.
Leave a Reply

