My sheep hear my voice

2 November 2014

Scripture refers to satan as the “prince of the power of the air” in Ephesians 2:2. He is the “ruler of this world” in John 12:31. These titles show how influential the devil is in this world. When we live in the world, it is easy to become entangled in the schemes of the evil one. Innocent beginnings may easily lead into dangerous liaisons. To put it in the most extreme, we are constantly flirting with danger when we engage with the world.

So much so that it feels like an upward battle to keep our focus on God. To stay in communion with him and to lead a godly life. But i also believe God is pleased with our efforts. When we sincerely try our best to stay in touch with God throughout our day, God is pleased. Even if we did lose our patience, even if we did make a mistake, God is merciful and abounds in steadfast love. He knows the sincerity of our efforts, and with that, He is pleased. With that, we must also celebrate because we have not given up. The ones who win the race of faith are not those who have kept themselves completely blameless and holy. I believe, they are the ones who have kept persisting in their resolve to trust in God and acknowledge his lordship. Let us not be discouraged by set backs, but let us celebrate in the small triumphs we achieve along the way as well. The devil will try to discourage us to give up or tempt us down a different road, but as long as we keep listening to God’s voice, we will not lose our way. We may not all run at the same pace, but Jesus has assured us that we will all get there eventually as long as we listen to Jesus’ leading.

My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me. I give them eternal life, and they will never perish. No one can snatch them away from me, for my Father has given them to me, and he is more powerful than anyone else. No one can snatch them from the Father’s hand.The Father and I are one.” John 10:27-30

Lord, may your mercies be new every morning, may you forgive us our failures and renew a steadfast spirit to keep going for you. Let us not give up in trying to please you. May i win this race of faith. Although each day may have its difficulties and set backs, i know that i am still moving forward and closer toward the goal as long as i keep my focus on you. Do not let me be side-tracked down an easier path, but let me finish the race, even if i need to walk, stop, hobble, wait or cry. Keep me going forward.

1 November 2014

I make the mistake of praying for the Holy Spirit’s guidance only before i step out to do some form of “ministry”. I forget that “ministry” is a misleading term for Christians. It assumes that anything else which is not in the usual form of charitable aid to others is not ministry.

But everything we do, by our actions and words, if not a ministry in itself, is a witness to others. Why would i not also ask for the Holy Spirit to work through me in just the same fervor for all other areas in life?

The Holy Spirit is our access to wisdom in this age. He helps us know how to respond to others, in our jobs, during conflict and testing times.

May i seek you Holy Spirit to aid me in all my thought processes. Not just in charitable work, but in everything. From the time i wake up to the time i sleep, may i depend on you to aid me through all that i think, do and say.

31 October 2014

How do we know if our attitude for work is godly?

Our attitude and decisions on work could be borne out of pride, greed and even fear. I believe it is inevitable that these characteristics will play a role in forming our thoughts on how we work. I believe this happens because we often look to the world and compare ourselves with peers and the world’s standards.
Jesus said “Do not love the world or anything in the world. If anyone loves the world, love for the Father is not in them.” 1 John 2:15.

When i read this verse i find it very challenging. At the same time, i also find it so convicting and powerful. Jesus made the choice very simple. Love God, or love the world. Love the world, and you cannot love God. There was no in between, or in other words, we do not need to find a “balance”. It’s one or the other.

I know fear has nothing to do with God. I know the pride and greed of life, and the love of money also has everything to do with the world and nothing to do with God. So then, my decision about work should never be about or be influenced by such things. I am free to choose. I am free to choose God and everything he desires for me. I am free to ask God – “Lord, what did you make me for, what have you prepared me for? What do you desire for me?”

It’s a simple choice, but not an easy choice. It’s mostly a continuous choice and not just a one off decision.

May you help me Holy Spirit in making a decision that brings glory to God. That brings glory to him because it pleases him to see me love him above everything else. It’s not easy Lord, but for you all things are possible. Change my attitude and mould my character into how you intended it to be.

Leave a Reply

