Exchanging doubt and fear with His purpose

27 September 2014

It’s not easy keeping out doubt from our heads. Doubt creeps into us in so many different ways. Through a word we overhear, through an image or through the observation of difficulties experienced by other people. The thought goes – will God look out for me here? Will i also suffer the same fate as this or that? What will happen to me? What will i do?

Jesus reminded us not to be anxious about tomorrow, for He says, enough are the troubles in a day. Let tomorrow worry about tomorrow.  And He told us to seek first the Kingdom of God, and all else will be added to us.

The trouble is, it isn’t the most natural thing for me to seek the Kingdom of God when i feel that my circumstances are being threatened. I have the tendency to look out for my own skin first before i look out for other people or God’s Kingdom. But i must persevere at least in leaving the worries and anxiousness of life for tomorrow and deal with each day as it comes. And following that, i must persevere in at least asking God what He would want me to do for His glory. And ultimately, i must give up whatever i am holding onto in fear, doubt or insecurity to God, because His purpose will prevail and His purpose will not be stopped.

I can only hold onto one thing at a time, if I hold on too tightly to doubt, fear and insecurity, i will lose grip over God’s purposes. Should i let these go, i will be able to avail myself to Him more fully and wholeheartedly.

Lord, help me to persevere through doubt. May i cling onto the hope of your goodness that will be the silver lining in the clouds encircling me. Keep the enemy’s lies and schemes to discourage far away from me. May i be reminded of your goodness and grace. May i continue to keep my head and eyes lifted up to you. May i seek Your purposes and not my own. May I give you these doubts, worries, anxieties and fears because they do not belong to me. May i exchange these evil things to receive Your purpose and Your will to light the way in which i should walk.

Leave a Reply

