Still small voice

26 September 2014

I tend to view God as juggling many things at the same time. Although i know God is omnipresent, my mind struggles to comprehend how God can be in more than two places at once. I cannot fathom how God can feel both pain and joy at the same time since there is always both running at the same time around the world.

Yet my God is that impossibly able and true. He is bigger than all the problems and tragedies in the world, His joy is not limited by any of that because He is the Redeemer, the Comforter, the Saviour, the Prince of Peace.

My Lord is also the one who has intimately knitted me in my mother’s womb and knows every thought and every word even before it is spoken. He knows the desire of heart and He knows my every need.

I may not be able to comprehend or imagine the vastness of the Lord, but i believe knowing the Lord is more about seeing Him in every detail of our lives and responding to His intimacy, and less about trying to understand the grander ideas of God. When the Lord chose to speak to Elijah, He chose to speak in a gentle intimate whisper instead of an awesome and grand way.

1 Kings 13:11-13: “The Lord said, “Go out and stand on the mountain in the presence of the Lord, for the Lord is about to pass by.”

Then a great and powerful wind tore the mountains apart and shattered the rocks before the Lord, but the Lord was not in the wind. After the wind there was an earthquake, but the Lord was not in the earthquake. After the earthquake came a fire, but the Lord was not in the fire. And after the fire came a gentle whisper. When Elijah heard it, he pulled his cloak over his face and went out and stood at the mouth of the cave.”

Lord God, let me hear Your whispers, let me recognize your intimate presence with me at all times. May i know You are here with me to stay at all times. In the busy fast-pace world that i live in, may i find stillness to know that You are God.

Leave a Reply

