Not of this world

23 September 2014

Being in the world but not of the world is a common Christian struggle. We cannot be too removed from what is going on around us and hide in a holy bubble. Yet we are to keep ourselves uncorrupted by this world and its tendencies.

When Jesus was tempted by the devil after fasting for 40 days in the dessert, the devil led Jesus up to a high place to look down on all the kingdoms of the world. The devil offered Jesus all the kingdoms and wealth of the world if only Jesus would bow down to him. But Jesus refused because Jesus knew He was not of this world and would only serve the Father.

In another account Jesus was asked by Pontius Pilate whether Jesus was the King of the Jews. Jesus replied: “My kingdom is not of this world. If My kingdom were of this world, then My servants would be fighting so that I would not be handed over to the Jews; but as it is, My kingdom is not of this realm.” 

In these accounts, we know that being in the world but not of the world is always going to be a challenge. If the devil had tempted Jesus with this, the devil would tempt us also. Jesus remained faithful to His Kingdom – choosing to forsake not just power and authority in the world, but everything else and even His life. From one extreme to the other, Jesus felt the full brunt of temptation and damnation on earth. He of all, knows our struggles too as we sit somewhere in between temptation and damnation.

May you Lord Jesus guide my thoughts, reel me in when i stray and remind me that my home is in eternity with you. You have said that You have gone to prepare a place for me with You in heaven. That is my home, that is my eternal reward where nothing can take away. Keep me true to You, keep me on guard to the snares and temptations of this world.

Leave a Reply

