Desire

22 September 2014

If i were to try explain or rationalize why people fall in love, or even at a more basic level, why men are attracted to women, i would not have any logical explanation. There just exists an attraction and a pull toward that direction. The writer of  Proverbs 30:18-19 had this to say:

“There are three things that amaze me— no, four things that I don’t understand: how an eagle glides through the sky, how a snake slithers on a rock, how a ship navigates the ocean, how a man loves a woman”

This mystery is also linked with marriage and the sacredness of marriage. It is one of the most recognized institution and practice transcending ethnicity and even cultures. Indeed this mystery is also used to describe Jesus as the bridegroom and the church as His bride – perfect and without blemish.

If only our attraction and desire for Jesus was also this strong and powerful. I must admit, it is not as natural for me to feel pulled and swayed toward Jesus – as much as He loves me, i often feel independent and self-sufficient without Him. Only going to Him to meet my needs when my strength and ability cannot deliver. I pray that i do not only seek to remain faithful, but that my journey with Jesus will blossom into a full blown love relationship that will be stronger than any human relationship or desire i can have.

Lord Jesus, you are the lover of my soul. My heart knows that, but it also sways easily to the temptations and distractions of this world. Forgive me Lord for idolism in my heart. I declare that there can be no other but You as my God. I pray for my relationship with You to be ignited and to sparkle with the strongest desire. Keep my heart alive and alight with desire for You Lord.

Leave a Reply

