19 September 2014

The media has a powerful pull in our minds. Our minds are like a sponge soaking up all the media we are exposed to minute by minute. But the media of this world, no matter how harmless or “informative” it may seem, is still dulling to the mind if not harmful.

Our identity and confidence is challenged through many forms of media. There is a war going on for our minds as Jesus warned us.

For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.” Ephesians 6:12.

This spiritual battle in the mind is unceasing. Although Jesus has disarmed the enemy, the enemy remains a threat at all times. Our weapon is the Word, prayer and focus on Jesus. A quick word of prayer, even a call of His Name, a declaration of scripture – will dispell the lies and make the enemy flee. And we must persist, not letting our guard down.

Father, may your Word linger in my mind to counter-act the lies i am fed. May Your Holy Spirit fill me and saturate me that there be no room for evil in me. May your mercy in the blood of Jesus cleanse me and wash me as white as snow. Protect me from complacency – keep my spiritual guard and filter against media on high alert at all times.

18 September 2014

There are some romantic stories out there about a boy or girl realising that who they are with is not the one they want to marry. And the internal struggle begins when the boy or girl needs to choose whether to stay on with a relationship they’ve been in for so long or to dare begin one which is their “true” love.

Many believers today did not know Christ until much later in life. It has been said before that the Christian faith is about a relationship with God. Even Jesus spoke about the time when He would return to His bride – being us, the church. Our faith may therefore have some similarities with the romantic movie and stories we hear. When we realise that the one true love of our souls is actually Jesus and that no one can satisfy us but Jesus alone.

Lord, I have the tendency to forget my love story with you. I have the tendency to grow distant and crawl away from Your heart. But thank you that you’ve never left me and you’ve always been beside me. Even when i didn’t know you yet, you chased me, even when i rejected you, you persisted. Now i am yours. May my heart be complete and full in You alone.

Leave a Reply

