14 September 2014

Our worst enemy can be ourselves. We can defeat ourselves even before we begin doing what we set out to do. Everyday, we have to fight our own created fears, worries, anxieties and discouragement. So much time and energy is actually wasted on going through the mental games we play and chase in our minds. It can be so exhausting but we sometimes don’t realise we are the one subjecting ourselves to these defeating thoughts.

But when we remember to stop and turn to God, we may be able to dis-spell some of the lies, realise that there is hope and find encouragement to trust in His provision and care.

My mind needs to rest. And I think it takes more intentional effort to bring our thoughts and focus back onto God, than to be caring and worrying about other things. The latter I can do almost on autopilot like a broken record that keeps playing in the background. But God’s voice, His presence, His assurance and His love, can sometimes require me to be more intentional.

Jesus said:Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” Matthew 11:28-30

Lord, may i bring my mind back to You when my thoughts become anxious and when it is full of distractions. May Your Holy Spirit gently lead me back to You and keep my mind on You so that i may find rest in You.

Leave a Reply

