Distractions

30 August 2014

There are plenty of distractions that can pull us away from the presence of our Abba Father. Although we cannot always be thinking about God and will need to apply our mind and attention to tasks during the day, there is an undeniable longing in our hearts for His presence. Sometimes we can get distracted by putting other things in place of the important position which only God can fill. But as we do so, another need will appear that seeks to be filled. And if we don’t eventually bring God’s wholeness into our lives, the emptiness and anxiousness grows.

God said, “Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.” And God also said, “ man does not live by bread alone, but man lives by everything that proceeds out of the mouth of the LORD”.

There will be things that seek to distract us from what really matters. There will be distractions that we have the tendency to exalt over God. But the true sustenance we seek is not found in the material or the natural world. It is only found in God and in His Word.

Lord God, let me understand and live by this truth. May i return to this basic sustenance – Your Holy presence to fulfill me, sustain me and focus my thoughts, energy and dreams. Let me not allow anything else distract my focus from you, but when i am distracted, may Your Holy Spirit guide me back.

Leave a Reply

