27 August 2014

Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is–his good, pleasing and perfect will.Romans 12:2

We want to be in God’s will and we want to know what is God’s will in our lives. Yet the answer almost never comes as a set of directives to follow, nor is there a script to follow through in our daily lives. It easily feels like God’s will eludes us.

Yet this verse provides a vital starting point to knowing God’s will. But it requires me to change my perspective on life. It requires me to stop trying to conform to the patterns of this world first. Unlike finding the will of God, finding out or knowing the patterns of this world do not require special effort on our part. It is written in history books, it is recorded on film, it is in the nature of the world’s economy, jobs and social issues. These patterns present themselves as common problems, worries and pressures.

God says, do not allow yourself to follow the crowd and way of this world. But how? Some of it may be good or even necessary. How do we distinguish? How do I live in the world but not be of the world?

God says, by renewing my mind. Renewing my perspective on things. Two people can be in the same set of circumstances, but their perspective and attitudes, their reactions to the same set of facts may make all the difference. So how do we play a good game when we have been dealt a lousy hand? By remembering God’s assurance and presence in our lives. By whispering his Name in the midst of anything and anytime. By pausing to acknowledge Him even during the mundane moments of life. To make it such a habit of “checking-in” with God throughout the day, that it seems as if He is always there.

Just as important is to be still and listen to His still voice in the silence. He does speak to us. I have heard and felt His presence but often I am too busy thinking or doing other things, I miss it. The Holy Spirit helps us and we must devote moments, even seconds to begin with, to shut out everything and expectantly wait to receive godly communication from God. It comes as images, thoughts, reminders, words from Scripture and all the like.

It’s a battle of our minds and heart. The world will try to claim it’s place as the centre and we must counter by declaring that God is the centre no matter what.

Lord God, Father, Son and Holy Spirit, I declare that You are the centre of my thoughts, heart and body. Father, I devote this and all that I set out to do each day into Your presence. May Your presence touch each task I do, each thought I have and each person I meet or speak with. Bring me back to Your centre. Bring my focus back to You when I whisper Your Holy Name, “Lord Jesus”, so that I do not get carried away by the patterns of this world.

Leave a Reply

