Control

24 August 2014

There are many things i like to control. I like to control the temperature of the room, the type of food i eat, what i do with my spare time and so on. Control provides me a sense of satisfaction and security, but very easily this appetite for control gets “out” of control. I start to want to also control where i will live in the next couple of years and i am not satisfied just with what i am eating and doing now, but i want to also be able to determine whether i can continue to do so for time to come. The same thing goes with science and advancements in science and medicine. There are some who have been accused of “playing God” – by controlling the outcome of biology through genetic engineering. At what point is this too much? At what point is our need for control unhealthy and harmful to our spiritual lives?

Adam and Eve were tempted to eat from the forbidden tree but were allowed to eat from every other tree. They both had rights to the whole garden and ruled over all creatures God created. They were the only two human beings and at that point in time, i think they had plenty of “control” given to them. But one thing we see from this is that human nature is never satisfied – the serpent tempted them by offering them the chance to have TOTAL control – the chance to be like God. “For God knows that when you eat from it your eyes will be opened, and you will be like God, knowing good and evil. Genesis 3:5. And then it happened – the temptation to have everything and anything they wanted, total control – total knowledge of everything like God.

My flesh will always want that kind of control and will never be satisfied. For as long as i am in the flesh i will continue to struggle like this. Perhaps that is why a lot of the New Testament talks about walking in the Spirit and letting the Spirit control us instead of our flesh. “For the mind set on the flesh is death, but the mind set on the Spirit is life and peace, because the mind set on the flesh is hostile toward God; for it does not subject itself to the law of God, for it is not even able to do so, and those who are in the flesh cannot please God.” Romans 8:6-7.

Let me give up the need of my flesh to control everything to You my Lord God. My Abba Father who cares deeply for me and who pours out abundant mercy, grace and love to me. I want to walk by the Holy Spirit so that i do not gratify the desires of the flesh which are unquenchable. Only You my Lord can satisfy the deep longing in my soul. My need for control can only be quenched by giving it up and not by taking up more of it. Help me Lord to give it unto You – to give you control in return for a life full of your goodness, wonders and blessings.

Leave a Reply

