Persisting in asking

16 August 2014

There are times when we are tempted to give up on asking for something and throw in the towel. Maybe we’ve tried very hard, looked everywhere, did everything we could. But in the end, nothing came to fruition. Of course there are situations where we should sensibly walk away, but when and how do we know whether to keep on trying and when to stop?

I am greatly encouraged by the parables that Jesus told us to remind us to keep persisting in asking. Of course we need to ask in right motives – but if it is something we need – Jesus will answer. In Luke 18, the persistent widow finally received justice even though the unjust judge tried to put her off many times. Then there was the persistent friend who kept knocking on the door at midnight even though his friend was asleep. Eventually because he kept knocking, the friend opened the door and gave him the bread he wanted. Jesus said: “But because the man keeps on asking, he will get up. He will give him as much as he needs.“So here is what I say to you. Ask, and it will be given to you. Search, and you will find. Knock, and the door will be opened to you. Everyone who asks will receive. He who searches will find. And the door will be opened to the one who knocks.” Luke 11:5-10

When i am tempted to stop praying and give up, i will remember these verses and then i will remember that i can shamelessly ask God and come boldly before His throne of grace and mercy.

Lord Jesus, i come before you, before the throne of grace. Reveal to me where my heart is not right in asking and forgive me where i have not sought rightly before you. But renew in me a steadfast spirit to ask and seek the things that are good and to never stop seeking. I have not found my answer and my prayers have not been answered, so i will persist. I will knock and i am knocking hard. Lord, hear me, listen to my prayers and open the door for me so that i may receive the bread i came to receive from you. Thank you Lord!

Leave a Reply

