Duty

22 July 2014

Being useful to God is always better than being blessed by God. I believe that God does want to bless us and many occasions I find myself recalling all the things I am grateful for. I know my wife, parents, home and job are all gifts from God which I am eternally indebted to, not to mention my new life and forgiveness in Christ!

But I also realise that these worldly “blessings” can also be the things to hold me back from answering the call of God. Because the thought of losing any one of them is devastating and unimaginable. To jeopardise the security would not be easy. Yet I must not forget that the higher calling of Christ is not just to live to ourselves but to live for Christ. I must be ready like a soldier and I must remember that my duty is always to serve God first.

2 Timothy 2:4 “No soldier gets entangled in civilian pursuits, since his aim is to please the one who enlisted him.”

As much as I enjoy the gifts from God, I pray that I never get entangled in them that I forget about my first love – my Lord and my God.

Lord, I pray that I am ready in my heart to listen to your wishes and to move in the direction your Holy Spirit desires me. May I give allegiance to your instruction and may I not become too comfortable with civilian pursuits. May I be useful to you Lord.

Leave a Reply

