Expectations

8 July 2014
 
How we experience and respond to our circumstances can be relative to our expectations. A person born in poverty will be content and overjoyed to achieve basic shelter and food. A person born well-off may aspire for much more. We are affected by our environment and our peers. All of which play a significant role in shaping our expectations. Our expectations however are focused on ourselves and what we want. For many, including myself, this kind of self-focused expectation can be exhausting and impossible to satisfy because there is always something more that can be done or something more that can be had.
 
But what is it that God expects of us? And what does God want of us?
 
Jesus said in Matthew 11:28: “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”
 
To some, the idea of being a Christian can be very burdensome and unattractive. They prefer to avoid the expectations that one may have as a Christian and rather define their own expectations of themselves. But Jesus is saying that we will never find rest for our souls if we define our own expectations. Eventually we will grow weary and burden ourselves with higher and higher expectations because the standards of the world are not grounded in something that is permanent. The world changes. God doesn’t change. An anchor found in Jesus Christ serves as our only way to escape the weariness and vanity of the world. In Christ, I find grace because I am given more than I could ever ask for or earn in my lifetime. In Christ, I find mercy because I am forgiven what no one else can forgive or have authority to forgive. In Christ, I have peace and this peace can be as deep and unshakable as far as I am willing to believe in Christ as my Saviour.
 
Lord Jesus Christ, be the solid rock on which I stand. Let me not be shaken by setting my expectations, hopes and dreams on things of the world. But let me set all of this at your feet now and trust in You. I shall hope in You and this hope shall never disappoint because You are the Beginning and the End.
Leave a Reply

