Heart of the matter

29 June 2014

Paul said “If I speak in the tongues of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast, but do not have love, I gain nothing.” 1 Corinthians 13

Love is the center of all that is true and all that is meaningful. Without love, Paul is saying that everything else falls apart and is utterly worthless.

What is love? Love is many things, but today i saw love as a relationship with God. Love was the amount of time i spent speaking and thinking with God, dreaming with God and walking with God. Without having a relationship with God that is strong, i could not have a love which is strong.

I led a bible study today eloquently and well – maybe i was even moving with the Spirit as i led the class and did a good job. But i know that my heart was not as grounded in my relationship with God recently as it may have been in the past. Yet, eloquence and powerful speech does not necessarily depend on my relationship with God. I can have a poor relationship with God at the moment but may be able to pull off a powerful and inspiring session or piece of writing. But my heart is not in the right place. And only God knows that. In the end, it’s my relationship with Him that matters and that is the heart of the matter.

Paul was warning us about allowing works and talent to mask our true worth. Our true worth is not in works or the amount of talent, wisdom or power we have going with us, but is rather based on our love. Love sometimes boils down to simply our relationship with God and others. The greatest command in the bible is to love our God with all our heart, mind and soul and then to love others as ourselves. It is not possible to love God without having a relationship with God.

Lord Jesus, i know i’ve backtracked away from you recently and i yearn to come closer to a strong and steadfast relationship with you again. I need to walk with you and to know you are near. Come Lord Jesus and hold my hand and let us walk together toward the journey ahead.

Leave a Reply

