Endurance, faith and hope

19 June 2014

When facing problems and difficulties, I often grumble and struggle with having to deal with or go through them. I want to avoid problems and struggles completely if possible. I want to move myself to a place where it is easier and less painful. There is nothing wrong with desiring a better life. But life as we know it, is not made up to be without its struggles.

James said this: “Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.” James: 2-4

Another passage in scripture actually compliments and completes the message in another way:

“Not only so, but we also glory in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope. And hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured out into our hearts through the Holy Spirit, who has been given to us.” Romans 5:3-5

I can either allow the struggles, problems and even suffering in life to discourage me and destroy my spirit, or i can have faith that God is maturing me as i choose to persevere and finish the work before me. My faith and character will be built on perseverance. With both faith and godly character – there is nothing that God cannot do through me.

Lord God, i acknowledge that your plans will sometimes require me to go through struggles, trials and even pain. I pray that i will be a man of perseverance, integrity and courage. Holy Spirit, may you fill my heart and mind so that i will endure and complete the work set before me.

Leave a Reply

