I go to prepare a place for you

28 May 2014

Psalm 49

I will not trust in my wealth nor boast of the abundance of my riches, but i will trust in the mercy of Jesus and the abundance of his grace.

Truly no man can ransom another or give to God the price of his life, but Jesus has ransomed me and paid the full price for my life.

For the ransom of my life is costly and nothing would suffice. Even if i owned everything there is to own on earth, it would still not be enough to allow me to live on forever and avoid seeing the pit.

Though they may have lands called by their own names, those who trust in their wealth will leave their wealth to others and make the graves their home forever.

But God will ransom my soul from the power of death and hell and God will receive me.

Sometimes, the riches of my own life will blind me, and the riches of others will also dazzle me. My heart is prone to trust in earthly comfort and security, but my soul knows its home in the body is only temporary. For that reason, nothing on this earth and no riches or property would ever satisfy my soul because it knows that it would all pass away together with my body. There will be a growing sense of fear and insecurity no matter the wealth accumulated, and the more my flesh tries to react by hoarding, the more my soul struggles as its eternal home erodes away.

There was once a Chinese emperor who was so scared of death that he built a legion of stone terracotta armies to accompany him in the afterlife and to be his guard and shield in death. With every day of life that passed, the numbers of the terracotta warriors increased. He knew that life was temporary and feared the eternity he faced when his body passed away. That fear terrorized his waking life. Unfortunately no hands can build a home or an army for the afterlife.

Jesus said: ““Do not let your hearts be troubled. You believe in God; believe also in me. My Father’s house has many rooms; if that were not so, would I have told you that I am going there to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am. You know the way to the place where I am going.” John 14:1-4

Lord Jesus, i know i may trust in my horses and chariots at times and i know my soul struggles to keep in tune with the Holy Spirit. Thank you for reminding me about my eternal home and what it really means to be able to not fret over where i will spend eternity. Thank you that you have gone ahead to prepare a place and a home for me with you. I love you Lord, and i thank you for directing me home.

 

Leave a Reply

