Watch Yourselves

27 May 2014

Luke 21:34 “But watch yourselves lest your hearts be weighed down with dissipation and drunkenness and cares of this life, and that day come upon you suddenly like a trap.”

It is true that sometimes, I can allow work, obligations and other activities weigh me down that i leave no room to care about the spiritual aspects of life. To some, the spiritual aspects of life are a tool to enable and improve the quality of everyday life on earth. But for Christians, the spiritual aspects of life will turn out to be the only valuable thing that remains and is of eternal importance compared to the other cares of this life here and now. It is far more than a tool to improve the quality of life here and now – it is the distinguishing factor between life and death.

Romans 8:6-8 “For to set the mind on the flesh is death, but to set the mind on the Spirit is life and peace. For the mind that is set on the flesh is hostile to God, for it does not submit to God’s law; indeed, it cannot. Those who are in the flesh cannot please God.”

i know that i am setting too much importance or care on my flesh when i feel dull to the spiritual aspects of life and the Word of God. When prayer feels tiresome and when reading scripture a toil, it suggests that my spiritual health is suffering. And Romans 8:6-8 suggests that it is probably because i am setting too much importance to the fleshly concerns and the cares of this life rather than taking care of my spiritual health.

Holy Spirit, teach me how and lead me to set my mind on you and to live in your constant care. Help me not to be overwhelmed with the cares of this life, but to be overwhelmed instead by the glory that is set before me. The glory which has been set aside for me, eternal treasure that is apportioned to me – if only i keep my mind on you.

Leave a Reply

