To know and to be known

8 May 2014

Psalm 139:1-6:

“O Lord, you have searched me and known me!
You know when I sit down and when I rise up;
you discern my thoughts from afar.
You search out my path and my lying down
and are acquainted with all my ways.
Even before a word is on my tongue,
behold, O Lord, you know it altogether.
You hem me in, behind and before,
and lay your hand upon me.
Such knowledge is too wonderful for me;
it is high; I cannot attain it”

This is to me one of the most beautiful Psalms. It displays the humility of the psalmist and the grandeur of God so well. Just meditating on this Psalm brings me a peace and assurance that goes beyond words.

To know and to be known is a cry of every human heart. I believe it is also the cry of God’s own heart. For God himself was impressed and won over by King David as God exclaimed, “David is a man after my own heart.”

God wants us to know him and the only difference is that God already knows us and everything else perfectly because He is the Beginning and the End of all things. We are the ones who have the yearning and spiritual desire to know God and to be known by God. The greatest comfort in this Psalm is actually that we are already completely utterly known by God – every thought and every detail of our lives is known to him. Some shudder, but others embrace this beautiful love of God.

Let us therefore fulfill the other great need to know God and to know more of Him on a daily basis.

Lord God, i am in awe of your majesty and take such comfort in the fact that you know me better than myself. I cannot hide from you and i willingly open myself to you because i know you are loving and wish to protect me, not to harm me. I want to throw away all my misconceptions of who you are and i want your Holy Spirit to tell me daily, who you are and get to know you better every day, Abba Father.

Leave a Reply

