23 April 2014

Many books and sermons have addressed the struggles of Christians integrating faith into the work place. For me and many Christians our daily employment does not have any direct connection with the gospel in a traditional sense, but the point of these books and sermons is that faith at work doesn’t always look like what we expect.

However, at the end of the day, I would admit it is not going to be possible to always find a meaningful or understandable connection between my employment and my faith. In that sense, integrating faith into work is not so much me constantly trying to find “meaning” or “connection” between employment and faith – but rather me resting in the assurance that no matter what happens, I can give the labour of my employment to God.

I believe that whatever employment I have now is a gift from God to provide for myself and family and others. With this gift, I exercise it to the best of my ability and when I offer up my work to God in prayer, God will sanctify and bless the work. That in itself is integrating faith into work.

Lord Jesus, I offer to you the works of my hands in my employment. I pray that you receive it and bless it so that good fruits may be born from my labour. I love you Lord. Thank you for receiving and blessing my labour and I await to see the fruits of this labour which I am dedicating to you.

Leave a Reply

