Philippians 4:11-13

27 April 2014

Today a pastor mentioned that eternity and life on earth is only separated by a very thin veil. That whilst most people think about approaching and working toward eternity, the truth is that eternity and this life is actually lived in parallel. Everything we do now has an eternal consequence to our life that will eventually be lived in eternity. Whether that eternity is spent with God or without God is a matter of choice we make now, and not something we can choose in eternity.

Yet so often, i go through life now thinking about and pining over the future and what it will entail for me here on earth. Often i struggle between giving thought about eternity with God (which is reassuring because I have put my faith in Jesus) and on the other hand, wondering what quality of life i will have here now.

Paul talked about learning the secret to being content in every circumstance. Philippians 4:11-13, Paul writes:

“Not that I speak from want, for I have learned to be content in whatever circumstances I am. I know how to get along with humble means, and I also know how to live in prosperity; in any and every circumstance I have learned the secret of being filled and going hungry, both of having abundance and suffering need. I can do all things through Him who strengthens me.”

Despite knowing that only a thin veil separates me between life with Jesus in eternity which i know will be spent in perfect peace, abundance, joy and love, i still suffer from the uncertain and unstable condition of living here and now on earth. But Jesus shall keep me and strengthen me. No one can go through life without feeling pain, but at least i have access to Jesus, just like Paul, who will strengthen me in all circumstances. Whilst here, i will struggle – but i know that my struggling is earning for me an eternity which is measurably good.

Lord Jesus, i need your strengthening and encouragement. Keep me steady in my path and keep me close to you. Let me not wander from your care and let me not lend my ear to fear, worry and anxiousness. But let me lend my ear to hearing your assuring still and gentle voice. I will be still and know you are God.

Leave a Reply

