Judge not

19 April 2014

It’s very easy to be offended by other people. Just this Easter I was overseas for holiday and some of the antics and behaviour of the local people who crossed paths with me really got me very frustrated.

But whether it is their rudeness or fault, taking offense over their ways only served to take away the joy and fun of being in the midst of another culture. Yet more, the bible teaches me to overlook an offense and that it is important to forgive as well as not to judge.

Matthew 7:1-5
“Judge not, that you be not judged. For with the judgment you pronounce you will be judged, and with the measure you use it will be measured to you. Why do you see the speck that is in your brother’s eye, but do not notice the log that is in your own eye? Or how can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when there is the log in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the log out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to take the speck out of your brother’s eye.”

This very verse speaks directly into the disposition of my heart. Whilst they may not be correct in their ways, scripture is asking me to focus my attention inwardly rather than projecting blame and offense outwardly. The disposition of my heart matters far more to The Lord than who is right and who is wrong.

Father, forgive me for being a hypocrite and allowing judgement and condemnation to fill my heart. I realise now that a heart filled with criticism and judgement allows no room for You. A heart absent with the Holy Spirit is in a very dangerous disposition. I repent and ask for you to purify my heart and thoughts. Forgive me and renew a steadfast spirit of humility and love.

Leave a Reply

