Breaking and tearing down the idols

18 April 2014

In the Old Testament the idol worshipers were always severely punished by God. Our God is a jealous God and He is jealous for us. Although as Christians we only believe and worship our one God and Lord, there are still idols of our heart that we can easily allow to sneak in.

Different from Old Testament times, our idols can sometimes lie in our hearts without us being aware of them. It’s as if they found a dark place somewhere and managed to stay and live in the depths of our hearts unnoticed and subtle. Yet it can control our inner most feelings and thoughts when it only allows the fruits of such idolism to surface.

Sometimes the idol in the secret heart can be a person, sometimes power, many times it is money or status. Idolism i believe can even be something that we know makes us unhappy but we refuse to let it go and allow it to take over and control of our joy and peace. Idolism can be a fantasy. Any idolism that we may secretly hold onto has the power to motivate us and make us happy but it also has the power to trap us and destroy us. The problem is that an idol is never the real deal. An idol can never be “belong” to me or be “faithful” to me. It may come unannounced and may even bring joy and gladness for a long time, but it will also leave without warning, just when i start depending on it to sustain me.

God is a jealous God for a good reason, because He knows that only He can satisfy and only He is the real deal. The true God and the one who not only belongs to me, but is also the Creator to which you and i belong to. He is faithful and will never leave or abandon me. He loves me and seeks to show us that He is the way, the truth and the light.

Jesus said “Everyone who drinks this water will be thirsty again, but whoever drinks the water I give them will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give them will become in them a spring of water welling up to eternal life.”

Lord. search my heart and reveal to me the secret idols of the heart which i have kept unnoticed and unaware. I give  you permission Holy Spirit to search my thoughts and my heart to bring out any thing which is untrue and an idol. I ask that you reveal and bring to light such idols of my heart and destroy them before my eyes so that i may be free to worship and derive my true joy from you and you alone. I love you Lord.

Leave a Reply

