Remembering God is sovereign

9 April 2014

Looking back at the events recorded in the Old Testament, I am reminded time and time again about God’s sovereignty in every affair on earth. From the flood during Noah’s time, the plagues sent onto Egypt when the pharaoh refused to set the Israel free, the parting of the red sea, the ten commandments, the events of God that followed Israel during the 40 years in the wilderness, the protection of Daniel in the den of lions and so on.

Nothing escapes God’s eye or is impossible for him. But day to day, i do not necessarily act consistently with this reality. I am still second-guessing God sometimes on whether he is really looking or is really sovereign.

But I am reminded to rest in the assurance of His will for me, and am also reminded to fear and honor God in my ways because sin creeps stealthily into life.

God’s silence today is by no means an indication of His complete authority and knowledge over everything that happens today. He is the same yesterday and today. Ever powerful, ever glorious, ever holy, ever in control.

Lord, may I always be minded to your complete knowledge and perfect will for my life. May I not doubt your sovereignty or power in the midst of silence, but hold on to what my heart and soul knows to be true. In all things, i commit to you, my choices, my decisions and my plans. May you take them as my pledge to you and lead me in the way everlasting.

Leave a Reply

