Success is not measured by

7 April 2014

“Success is not measured by the accumulation of wealth but is measured by the impact made on the lives of other people.”

I do not know who was the first person to say this. But i do know that it is very true. Throughout history, we have had the problem of measuring our success against others by materialism, power, status, beauty, fame and intelligence – all of which point toward one person – ourselves. But this statement takes success and turns it on its head in so many ways. It really brings home such a true and much needed perspective on how we define success.

This kind of success is not meant to be measured by numbers or statistics, but is meant to be a heart felt accomplishment of what we have done for the good of others with our lives.

I really admire those who remember to return a blessing to the community after their success. They remember life is not lived in isolation, and neither was their success the result of their own effort, but by a combination of external factors, involving other people before and after them. i believe such humility and grace is pleasing to God. Enriching another person’s life enriches our soul and whole being.

Thank you to those of you who have chosen to give back and invest into the lives of other people, wishing the same success, inspiring the same passion, and giving hope to others.

 “For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.” Matthew 25:35-36

Father Lord, I am humbled by the examples of faith, love and humility. Thank you for giving me and us these treasured souls who have set the path ablaze and inspired the way that we ought to direct our ambitions, hopes and dreams toward. Create in me a passionate heart for this good work and inspire me to do the best i can with what i have. I love you Lord.

Leave a Reply

