Patience from God

3 April 2014

I find it quite frustrating to be waiting for people, and i don’t particularly like waiting for anything else either. Maybe it is the culture i am living in or maybe  it is just my own impatience. But i think i am not alone on this one.

The bible reminds us many times to wait on God and to be patient. The most famous passage in scripture 1 Corinthians 13, begins with “Love is patient…”

In the Book of Proverbs it is written “through patience a ruler can be persuaded, and a gentle tongue can break a bone” Proverbs 25:14. There is power in patience. I never thought it could break bones!

Ecclesiastes 7:7 says “the end of a matter is better than its beginning, and patience is better than pride”. Through my impatience, i can also see my pride sneaking in. Impatience and pride are almost brothers.

In 1 Timothy, 1:15 “Jesus might display his unlimited patience as an example for those who would believe on him and receive eternal life”. Without God’s forbearance toward my mistakes and sins, i would have been in a much much worse situation than i am in now. Just as how scripture says: “We love because he first loved us” 1 John 4:19, i also believe i can learn to be more patient when i realise how patient God is with me too.

Father God, thank you for extending your patience toward me. i pray that i can also learn to extend patience toward other people and to situations in my life. I pray that i make use of frustrating times well and train my patience in these times.

Leave a Reply

