Encouragement

20 March 2014

We all need encouragement in our lives. The bible speaks of encouragement even as a gift that some of us possess to serve others. Whichever way you look at it, encouragement is central to our life.

It doesn’t matter whether we are born poor, lame, handicapped, rich, beautiful or smart. There will come a day when what we need most is a pick-me-up. Someone to say a kind word, someone to listen and someone to walk with you.

Sometimes we challenge and ask God why he doesn’t help us out of trouble. We pray for the situation to change but it doesn’t. But we seldom, or at least i seldom, pray for encouragement from God. It’s peculiar to pray for encouragement, because most of us would rather pray for the results to be different. But as we know that not all prayers we ask are answered and we do not always know why, i believe the key is to ask for something which God almost never and perhaps will never refuse us.

There are two things i can think of that God will not refuse when we pray for – one of them is wisom, and the other one is encouragement – especially encouragement in tough times. I know for sure that God always will want to encourage me in tough times, but i just need to listen, and sometimes, the best way to hear his encouragement or feel his encouragement is to simply just ask for it from God. Because until i ask, i am not fully aware of the need to hear and receive it from God, and until i ask, my mind keeps wandering off somewhere else. So i will ask, and i will pray, and i will wait for the Lord to encourage me.

“But those who wait for the Lord [who expect, look for, and hope in Him] shall change and renew their strength and power; they shall lift their wings and mount up [close to God] as eagles [mount up to the sun]; they shall run and not be weary, they shall walk and not faint or become tired.” Isaiah 40:31

I shall wait for your encouragement Lord. I pray and ask for it to come and for you to open my eyes, heart and mind to your encouragement. Fill me completely with your mighty encouragement so that i will not fear and will not despair. Keep close to me and let me know you are near, you know my plight. Whisper to me your loving kindness.

One thought on “Encouragement”

  1. Ian this is a great post! I agree with you and God loves it when we pursue Him as well. Seeking wisdom and encouragement allows us to turn our faces and hearts towards God. This post was particularly encouraging for me today!

Leave a Reply

