Living outside myself

14 March 2014

It is easy and instinctive for me to always think about how certain things will impact me or how i can benefit the most out of a given situation.

Essentially it is a self-centeredness which i cannot escape. But living in faith requires me to step outside myself, outside my inner world and live outside myself, to live for something larger than me or at least something other than myself.

Jesus said “If you try to hang on to your life, you will lose it. But if you give up your life for my sake, you will save it.” Matthew 16:25.

Love plays an important role in self-less living. When we are in love with someone everything we do for them can be a joy, even at our own expense, because we do it out of love.

I believe living outside myself also brings me freedom in the heart – i’m less concerned with hanging onto my own security and therefore free to do what motivates me, which is hopefully love and Jesus.

It’s not easy, but a reminder about this every now and then does help.

Father Lord, i ask for your continual reminders and guidance on how to approach my life with less of myself and more about others. May your Holy Spirit always prompt me when i become self-centered and help me to release the grip over my own life and allow myself to rest in the assurance i have in you. Remind me Lord, help me to inch my way toward this goal throughout my life.

Leave a Reply

