Crossroads and choices

12 March 2014

Every now and then we meet crossroads in life. These are choices that would impact us in a more profound way than other choices we make on a daily basis. It’s a central and unavoidable part of life, starting from which subjects to take at school, to which university to attend, followed by what job to take, who to marry and so on.

It’s natural to make some or most of these important decisions based on how we feel or think at the time or what everyone else around us is doing or telling us. We may get advice from trusted friends and family or mentors, but ultimately, the decision lies with us.

Whilst this is an inevitable point in everyone’s life, not everyone will inevitably make the right decision. Mistakes may be made and hopefully important lessons are learned to improve our future decision making process.

Many kings in the Old Testament inquired of God before making decisions to go into battle. They knew that if it wasn’t God’s will, they would fail even if the odds were in their favour. And likewise. if it was God’s will, anything was possible even if the odds made it impossible.

I thought it interesting how God has given us the freedom to make plans, choices and decisions in life, but how godly people had always given back this autonomy to God and asked for direction from Him.In a way, it takes humility to commit our ways and plans to the Lord. I believe God wants me to cast my anxieties and the burden of decision making to Him and I trust that the Lord will make my paths straight. He will work it out for the best according to His will, which is always good and perfect.

Proverbs 16:

To humans belong the plans of the heart, but from the Lord comes the proper answer of the tongue. All a person’s ways seem pure to them, but motives are weighed by the Lord.Commit to the Lord whatever you do, and he will establish your plans…The lot is cast into the lap, but its every decision is from the Lord.”

Humility. sincerity, righteousness and trust in the Lord precedes every right decision. I may often forget that i need to first check my heart and motives before i commit them to the Lord because the Lord is just and righteous and cannot deny himself.

I must first pray that the Holy Spirit will check my heart and reveal any selfishness or hidden sin in my plans or choices, and then only can i have the confidence to know that God will lead me through and set me on the right path.

Father Lord, i commit my ways to you and ask that Your Holy Spirit searches my heart and reveals any hidden agenda which is not sincere or right. Remove from me the sin that easily entangles itself with my decisions and motives. Show me only the way which is true and pure so that i may walk blameless before You and in righteousness.

Leave a Reply

