Excellence at work

1 March 2014

There’s something very satisfying about doing something well. I may not have to be the best in what I do but to know that I had out in my very best and achieved something already gives me deep satisfaction and joy. It’s as if I lived up to my full potential – whatever and however that potential is at the very moment – I’m at least filling in the “container” that I’ve been given.

Jesus said, whoever is responsible with the little that has been entrusted will be given more. He also warned that whoever is found irresponsible will be shut out into the outer darkness.

The saying seems quite harsh and arbitrary, and I am also reminded that God intimated that He did not enjoy lukewarmness in our attitudes. In Revelations 3 :15-16, God said

“I know your deeds, that you are neither cold nor hot. I wish you were either one or the other! So, because you are lukewarm – neither hot nor cold, I am about to spit you out of my mouth.”

That said, I do not believe God is a hard master – just as how in the parable the servant who was found irresponsible responded to the master “but you are a hard man, reaping where you did not sow and gathering where you have not scattered seed.”. I think it is easy to be like this servant and to misunderstand God as a harsh judge. Rather is He saying that we only really find deep and lasting joy when we are doing our best to fulfill the role He has given us. Be it excellence in our job, business, family, sport or whatever And wherever God has placed us? To be faithful to God and to strive for excellence in what we do is to be passionate about God. And when I am, I leave less room for the enemy to attack, I am less prone to wander away from God and I am more focused on Him. Maybe it’s for our own good because God knows the danger of steering off the wrong path – small is the gate and narrow is the road that leads to life and wide is the gate and broad the road that leads to destruction and many enter through it.

I don’t need to be a workaholic, I don’t need to be a perfectionist – I just need to do the best with what I have been given. I just need to love well the people that God has put into my heart and others too when the opportunity knocks. Jesus said, my yoke is easy and my burden light. Truly I believe that God lightens the load by giving us joy and deep satisfaction in our being whenever we strive to do the best with what, where and when God puts to us. We will be empowered with the Holy Spirit and be rewarded with hearing these words: “Well done my faithful servant, with you I am well pleased, you have been faithful with little, I will set you over many things. Come and share your master’s joy!”

Father Lord, you are my loving Father, you are my Lord, set over me a spirit of vigor and life in the things you have entrusted me with. Usher in Your holy joy with each faithful step I take in the direction and in the things You have given me. Help me also to be grateful with what I have been given and use the talents faithfully and in excellence. I am yours and you are mine. May I live in anticipation of that day when I get to hear those words from your mouth. I love you Lord.

Leave a Reply

