Devotional on Psalm 19

2 March 2014

Psalm 19:7-11:

The law of The Lord is perfect, reviving the soul.
The statutes of The Lord are trustworthy, making wise the simple.
The precepts of The Lord are right, giving joy to the heart.
The commands of The Lord are radiant, giving light to the eyes.
The fear of The Lord is pure, enduring forever.
The ordinances of The Lord are sure and altogether righteous.
They are more precious than gold, than much pure gold, they are sweeter than honey, than honey from the comb.
By them is your servant warned, in keeping them there is great reward.

In every country there are different laws but no law is perfect but the law of The Lord. The law of the land provides security and order, whereas the law of The Lord also revives and refreshes the soul.

The statutes of The Lord can be relied on to provide wisdom so that no one is lacking in instructions.

The precepts of The Lord enlighten the way and keep my eyes away from evil.

The fear of The Lord gives eternal life to all and purifies the motivations of our hearts.

The ordinances of The Lord are established and unchanging forever, perfect in righteousness and justice, fair and faultless.

When I invest my life in the way of The Lord I am investing for eternal rewards that will outlast and exceed the riches and passing glories of this life. The way of The Lord brings sweet joy into the depths of my being, sweeter and more satisfying than even the purest things that the earth can offer me.

I am warned to keep the commands and ways of The Lord because He loves me greatly and does not wish for me to perish but to enjoy eternal life in Him. His desire is to bless me and give me a future, His plans are for my good and not to harm me but to take me away from harms way.

Joyful songs in the heart are made when I reflect and ponder about the loving ways of The Lord my Father and my Saviour!

I love you Lord for giving me and teaching me in Your ways for how else could I know if You didn’t write it down for me. Surely You are good and merciful, forgive me if You find any offense in my ways and be merciful to me. Lead me in the way everlasting and fill my heart with the joy of your salvation.

Leave a Reply

