Devotional on Proverbs 8 (Wisdom)

7 March 2014

I found it very interesting how wisdom is described in part of Proverbs 8:

“The Lord formed me from the beginning, before he created anything else. I was appointed in ages past, at the very first, before the earth began. I was born before the oceans were created, before the springs bubbled forth their waters. Before the mountains and the hills were formed, I was born….I was the architect at his side. I was his constant delight, rejoicing always in his presence.”

Wisdom is talked about many times in the bible but today we don’t really honour or celebrate wisdom so much. Rather the people who have the most power, most money, who are the most beautiful and talented are celebrated and honoured.

Rather than seeking wisdom many seek riches and i also seek and desire riches more than wisdom sometimes. It is constantly in my face, through advertisement and just living in the world in general. But wisdom has this to say “I love all who love me. Those who search for me will surely find me.”

Without intentionally seeking wisdom by focusing my thoughts and time in God, I can easily lose focus and grow numb to the voice of wisdom directing my steps and decisions. Today with increased technology and connectivity, we are called to make decisions faster and faster, and with that, it only takes a second to make a right decision with wisdom or to choose destruction without hearing the voice of wisdom.

May my thoughts and decisions forever be found in wisdom Lord. May I seek You and your wisdom with my daily life. I ask and pray that wisdom leads me away from temptation and certain destruction and that I delight in wisdom and love wisdom as I love you.

Leave a Reply

