Devotional on Lazarus and the Rich Man

9 March 2014

We cannot make sense of the apparent unfairness in the world. Unfairness for example in the rich and the poor, those who live in luxury and those who are starving.  There are also many other injustices of people being exploited from their vulnerable positions in life.

Why does God allow it? We really do not know. But in the story of Lazarus and the Rich Man, we see a simple story of how two men living very distinctly different lives (one in starvation and one in luxury) end up also in vastly different states after their death. We are not told exactly why and how each man came to be in heaven or hell, but we are told that Lazarus was comforted in heaven. The rich man on the other hand was suffering in hell. To me, the end result was that justice was brought in the final chapter. Justice may not have happened during the lifetime of the men, but it certainly did come upon them eventually.

Similarly, it is written With God, one day is as good as a thousand years, a thousand years as a day. God isn’t late with his promise as some measure lateness. He is restraining himself on account of you, holding back the End because he doesn’t want anyone lost. He’s giving everyone space and time to change.”.

To be honest, that makes me feel rather uneasy about the whole situation because i know that i have been given more than i need and more will therefore be expected of me from God. Perhaps God is giving me time and space to do something with my resources to further his kingdom by fighting and contributing toward ending or alleviating injustice.

With that thought, i cannot be complacent with where i am with God. I need to constantly be willing and allowing God to challenge me and move me forward in His will for me.

Father Lord, I am your servant and i want to offer you all that i am and have to further your kingdom. i know that my heart is still not quite there and i may be weak in my convictions against injustice. But i do pray for you to lead me and challenge me to make space in my life for more and more of you and less and less of me.  I give you permission to show me and guide me toward spending my time and resources better and more responsibly in the way you intended and in the way it should be. So please teach me and guide me Lord. I love you.

 

Leave a Reply

