6 February 2014

When  i look at the people that Jesus attracted to his side (tax collectors, beggars, disease stricken people, the poor and outcasts of society), it reminds me of how these people must have felt around Jesus. These people were labelled as sinners and outcasts of society, but they felt compelled and drawn toward Jesus – they found refuge, acceptance and hope in Him.  Some of them even called Jesus – “Lord”, as if they knew He was God. Jesus said – “If you have seen me, you have seen God”.

This boggles my mind and also many people in Jesus’ time (and even today), that the God who swept away entire armies under His feet in one breath, who once flooded the earth and destroyed His enemies in wrath, had chosen, ultimately, to finally drive home His final statement, His final message through human flesh. For this reason, many did not believe Jesus was God because it was incomprehensible that an Almighty and Holy God would come in humble flesh and blood. But this is the God who says to us:

“I am the Alpha and the Omega, the beginning and the end, the Holy and Sovereign One, the Creator and Almighty God. But I am also your Father. I am the one who sent my prophets to give you my words, who made signs and wonders recorded in all the chapters of the bible, who never gave up on my beloved sons and daughters, but pursued relentlessly. Yet I am also the one who was slapped in the face, spit upon, tortured, beaten, humiliated, crucified and hanged on a cross for your sake. And even now, I pursue unashamedly after you, because I love you. ”

From this i know two things. That God is all powerful and holy, but there is also nothing that He would not do to get us to know Him. He displayed the full spectrum of His awesome power to His gentle and vulnerable heart for His children. In this, the truth of both the power and the depth of His love was displayed. A love available to all because He wrapped it in the familiarity of human flesh and a love more magnificent than our mind can imagine with none to compare.

Jesus, if only You would continue to reveal to me more understanding and insight into the depth of your love, that i may not only understand it with my mind, but have it in my heart.

Leave a Reply

