Work

5 February 2014

One of the most difficult things I find about living my faith is in what and how I do my day job. I remember when I just came to faith I had a hard time reconciling what I did as a career with my walk as a Christian. There are in fact many books written about how to integrate faith in the work place.

Recently the Seahawks won the Super Bowl and made headlines in the sports arena. But just before their game a couple of the team mates took the time out for God to have an interview about their Christian faith. It was such a delight to see this trend of outspoken sportsmen express their faith. There are also celebrities who do the same. Many of them have excelled in their field and I am inspired by their hard work and determination to succeed in their careers.

Seeing these examples helps and motivates me to also do the same for God at the work place. I suppose one cannot be a mature Christian if he is slack at his job since God cares about everything we do.

It is written in 1 Corinthians 7:17:
“Nevertheless, each person should live as a believer in whatever situation the Lord has assigned to them, just as God has called them”

And in Colossians 3:23-24:
“Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters, since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving.”

It’s almost as if God is saying “When you do well at what I have assigned as your task, however small or however insignificant, I am given glory. Do not seek acknowledgement from men for their praise is fleeting. Rather set your eyes and heart on seeking my praise and adoration. Work is good for you and I myself have not ceased from working even until now. Know that I see every good thing you do and also every thing you do not do right. If you let me, I will correct you and set you on the right path. Be patient for success does not come overnight, but with Me, all things are possible and I will establish your ways for as long as you persevere in using the talents I have given you for my sake.”

I believe it is important we strive for success in whatever work we are given. My motivation comes from The Lord who rewards me for every good work I do.

Father, help me in whatever task I am given Lord. Help me to be enthusiastic and help me to see that it is You who I am working for and no one else. I am accountable to You only. Thank you also that Your yoke is easy and Your burden is light.

Leave a Reply

