Understanding Scripture

29 January 2014

I was reading a post by an athiest who titled his post “Why I am not a Christian”. The writer was obviously quite well educated based on his writing but his attempts to dis-credit the bible and the life of Jesus were surprisingly juvenile.

I haven’t read the book “God delusion” by renowned atheist Richard Dawkins or books of Stephan Hawking to prove God doesn’t exist. Although based on quotes i’ve seen from the books aiming to de-bunk faith, i realised most of them had no real appreciation of the depth and meaning of scripture in the bible.  i’m also reminded about my own struggle with scripture and the apparent contradictions in the bible.

My understanding of scripture after coming to faith has improved, but I don’t understand everything. It seems that the journey in understanding scripture never really ends even as a believer. Jesus taught in many parables and many in His day, even His disciples, did not understand the meanings. When asked why Jesus spoke in parables, Jesus replied “You are permitted to understand the secrets of the Kingdom of Heaven, but others are not. To those who listen to my teaching, more understanding will be given, and they will have an abundance of knowledge. But for those who are not listening, even what little understanding they have will be taken away from them. That is why I use these parables, For they look, but they don’t really see. They hear, but they don’t really listen or understand. This fulfills the prophecy of Isaiah that says,

‘When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend. For the hearts of these people are hardened, and their ears cannot hear, and they have closed their eyes— so their eyes cannot see, and their ears cannot hear, and their hearts cannot understand, and they cannot turn to me and let me heal them.’

I am reminded that i can also sometimes be as hasty as the examples above and that i would be naive to think i could understand completely and fully the scriptures in the bible.  Without a humble  heart, the words of the bible will simply be incoherent ramblings of mad people.

Christian or non-Christian, both i believe can fall into times of having a hardened heart to scripture. A Christian may have read the same verses and memorized them, but the word no longer lives because they may have quenched the Spirit by hardening their hearts with pride or self-righteousness.

Holy Father, may my eyes and heart ever be open and soft to your Words. May each line of scripture speak and bring life into my being. Inspire me and encourage me in Your Word Lord. 

Leave a Reply

