God of Justice

28 January 2014

I was reading a short chapter in a book about poverty and was reminded of the great chasm especially between the well-resourced population and severely under-resourced population today.  Technology keeps blistering ahead and people are making millions even billions creating new funky apps and programs. Yet with all this intelligence so little progress is made bridging the social injustices today. I’m not doing a great deal in making today a better world myself – in fact most of my time is not spent thinking about these issues. But as I prayed about it, God gave me the word “Justice”.

As i looked up the general meaning of the word “Justice”, the following definition was provided:-

Justice is a concept of moral rightness based ethics, rationality, law, natural law, religion, equity and fairness, as well as the administration of the law, taking into account the inalienable and inborn rights of all human beings and citizens, the right of all people and individuals to equal protection before the law of their civil rights, without discrimination on the basis of race, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, national origin, color, ethnicity, religion, disability, age, wealth, or other characteristics, and is further regarded as being inclusive of social justice.

That was A LOT for me to take in with just one word. I wouldn’t have necessarily thought of justice encompassing such a wide definition.  But as i looked at the word again, i realised this is also the word used to describe God.

Something deep in our souls scream out for “Justice”.  God is not to blame for the injustices, and He has said that there will come the day of judgement and also a day of restoration of everything that was lost.  But in the meantime, God is asking me and all of us to bring justice into the world. He is asking us to be par-takers and His hands and feet. His inaction to bring about swift justice is not due to His weakness but to His great mercy and patience. While people blame God for injustice and even argue that He does not exist because there is injustice – God patiently endures – not wishing that we should perish in judgement, but is giving us time to repent and change our ways. The sad story is not only the subjects of injustice – in fact, the real tragedy is us who are not doing anything about the injustice. Let’s be clear that it is not about works, but let’s also be clear that God is a God of Justice. Jesus said, ” “Who is My mother and who are My brothers?”…. For whoever does the will of my Father in heaven is my brother and sister and mother.”

Father, keep my heart open and my ways open to your leading in participating toward justice in this world. Bring me forward and may my heart and will be at your command. Forgive me when my heart is cold and warm it up again so that i never cease to strive for Your justice.

Leave a Reply

