Making use of time

25 January 2014

If there is one thing i have grown to take quite seriously in the last few years, it is time. When i was younger, i really had less care or concern about how i was using my time. Hours could fly by just watching tv or doing nothing. But as i get older, i realised that there is fierce competition for my time. I get upset when i don’t have enough time to rest, or do something i like. i get protective over my time at home and the time i need to spend at work. There are people to meet, things to do and tasks to complete. And often, i am rushing and scurrying to manage it all in the limited time i have.

There simply are days when it feels there isn’t enough time in one day. But i will always remember one thing my pastor preached some time back – and it was that God has given me enough time to do what i needed to do everyday. God didn’t give me time to do everything i “wanted” to do, but there is always enough time to do what needed to be done. So i always remind myself to use and plan my time wisely, to choose how i allocate my time and to protect it when i need to. Time with family is precious, so i guard it against work –  which in Hong Kong, tends to eat up a lot of people’s lives. Time with God is also becoming more important to me this year as i try to let it take priority over the “other things” i “want” to do. It’s in the times when i choose to slow down and choose to be with God, when i am given wisdom over how i should allocate and use my time wisely – in the way God intended when He gives me each day.

Ephesians 5:15-17 

Look carefully then how you walk, not as unwise but as wise, making the best use of the time, because the days are evil. Therefore do not be foolish, but understand what the will of the Lord is.

Psalm 90:12

So teach us to number our days that we may get a heart of wisdom.

Luke 14:28

For which of you, desiring to build a tower, does not first sit down and count the cost, whether he has enough to complete it?

Ecclesiastes 3:8

A time to love, and a time to hate; a time for war, and a time for peace.

Colossians 4:5

Walk in wisdom toward outsiders, making the best use of the time.

Help me Lord to use my time wisely and to protect it so that it is not lost or used to my harm.

Leave a Reply

