Doubt and weakness

23 January 2014

I sometimes question whether I am in the right line of work and if I am hindered by my limitations and weaknesses. Some days, like today, I can feel quite depressed and discouraged because I don’t see any point in what I am doing and ask God whether I should be trying to look to new horizons.
All I can do is to seek His face and His voice on days like these. True enough, when I flipped my daily short message calendar, the Lord replied my doubts and worries:-

“In Christ…
You are covered by the love of God from every direction.
You have been set aside for God’s special purpose.
You are in God’s strong hands”

I was still not convinced despite this message and I just wanted to seek from rest by reading one of my favourite websites “back to the bible” containing daily devotionals. It so happens, one of the devotionals I read today was about how the body of Christ was made up of different parts with different strengths as well as weaknesses. In fact the example was about how different tools had specific weaknesses that turned into strengths. I can’t remember the exact story so I’ve made it up into my own version –

Mr. Ruler was complaining that Mr. Hammer was too noisy and forceful, whilst Mr. Hammer complained how Mr. Ruler was always measuring people and too calculative of people and every situation, then Mr. Wood complained against Mr. Nail for being too strong and firm in his ways – unable to bend or be flexible, whilst Mr. Nail said Mr. Wood was too stiff and was always too uniform and boring in his ways. — Jesus as you know, was a carpenter, and He came along and picked up Mr. Ruler, Mr. Hammer, Mr. Nail and Mr. Wood and started working with all of them to make a beautiful piece of furniture. Jesus used each of them perfectly and with their flawed characteristics, Jesus made them strengths in building a masterpiece.

I suppose, whatever flaws and weaknesses and inadequacies that I may feel at my present situation – whether at work or otherwise, I know that Jesus is at work with me. Jesus promised to never leave me nor forsake me. I am not perfect, but Jesus is at work and using me, turning even my weaknesses into strengths. The following verse now takes on a new dimension for me:-

2 Corinthians 12:9-10 “But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.”

Father, although I will have doubts from time to time about my ability and adequacies, I acknowledge and declare that You have already seen me through and through and that I am in your strong hands, being moulded for your special purpose. In times when I don’t feel like it is the case, I will choose to rely simply on your Word and faith. Thank you Lord that you reassure me you are in control and that I am strong in You even if I may be weak in the flesh.

 

Leave a Reply

