You are enough

10 January 2014

Most of our striving in life is to find happiness and joy. There is nothing wrong with that because that was how I believe we were naturally wired. But what brings us happiness and joy comes in so many different forms.

As a Christian, I know that there will be struggles and disappointments. I am not immune to sadness and pain just because I have God in my life.  But I still pray that everyday will be great, that things will go well, no hiccups, nothing bad.

Someone asked me today – “Is Jesus enough?” he said, we often sing it, “Jesus is enough for me, Jesus is my strength and joy, Jesus is my all in all”. But to be honest, we probably only feel that way when things are going well. It is hard to feel that way when things go wrong. Another person asked, what does it mean “to know God? to know Jesus?”. Well, in a way, it means to experience the Lord who redeems all that was lost, the God who restores the years the locusts have eaten away, the Lamb who removes our sin as far as the east is from the west, to know the Alpha and Omega who created everything there is and everything there ever will be – the beginning and the end – The Sovereign One.

When I take time to ponder over who this God is, and what it means to know Him, and what it means to know He wants to be with me and be close to me. I realize I have everything there is and ever will be, I realize I never lost anything because he has redeemed it, I am comforted and can be joyful because nothing – absolutely nothing – can change or alter the fact that Jesus will never leave me.

One thing I ask from the Lord, this only do I seek: that I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, to gaze on the beauty of the Lord and to seek him in his temple. For in the day of trouble he will keep me safe in his dwelling; he will hide me in the shelter of his sacred tent and set me high upon a rock.” Psalm 27:4-5.

“And I am convinced that nothing can ever separate us from God’s love. Neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither our fears for today nor our worries about tomorrow—not even the powers of hell can separate us from God’s love. No power in the sky above or in the earth below—indeed, nothing in all creation will ever be able to separate us from the love of God that is revealed in Christ Jesus our Lord.” Romans 8:38-39

Thank you Lord, thank you for the cross, thank you for your love I say. You are enough, more than I could ever ask for.

Leave a Reply

