Enjoy life

5 January 2013

It’s not difficult to feel burned out with today’s technology of unceasing communication, high-speed service and higher expectations of everything in general. People I meet often tell me how exhausted and tired they are from their jobs, and some, being good Christians, are also busy with ministry in their free time. Being busy, is sometimes seen as being dutiful and faithful. But whilst it is important to be responsible at our jobs and to have a heart for the kingdom of God, we must guard against burn out. We can avoid burning out by taking time to enjoy life as God intended. Solomon, in all his wisdom came to this conclusion:

Even so, I have noticed one thing, at least, that is good. It is good for people to eat, drink, and enjoy their work under the sun during the short life God has given them, and to accept their lot in life. And it is a good thing to receive wealth from God and the good health to enjoy it. To enjoy your work and accept your lot in life—this is indeed a gift from God.” New Living Translation – Eccl 5:18-19.

Indeed, it is a blessing to be able to live life and enjoy every moment. To enjoy the gifts of God, whether in wealth or in kind, whether small or great – for this is the portion that God has given and this is the gift. A Christian friend from Nigeria told me today that in his country, there is a saying that we should not treat waking up and eating as a habit. The most fundamental act of breathing was appreciated as a gift.

Being grateful to God does not just come in the form of praising God and re-counting testimonies of faithfulness and blessing. There are times for great rejoicing, and then there are times for simply enjoying life in itself. In the same way we love seeing someone enjoy our gifts, God also enjoys and is delighted when we enjoy His gifts.

Today, I choose to enjoy the good gifts you have given me Lord, I will enjoy the life you have given me today, along with every material blessing and every spiritual blessing that you have given me. Today, I speak blessings into my work and I ask that you bless the fruit of my labour. Help me Lord to enjoy the work that you have given me as my portion.

One thought on “Enjoy life”

  1. Ian < i read your last five devotionals not once but many times and I felt each one was written specially for me. Each one tugged at my heart and soul and you said the words that i wanted to have confirmed as they were how i felt but lacked the wisdom to present them so spiritually and so coherently .God gave you this gift so 加油。。let the oil of His lamp keep burning for those who need these devotionals to echo their hearts or speak their minds or caress their souls.

    It is true in what you said…" But whilst it is important to be responsible at our jobs and to have a heart for the kingdom of God, we must guard against burn out. We can avoid burning out by taking time to enjoy life as God intended."
    i felt burnt out on Friday….
    I had a great day of rest and i rest my soul on the shoulders of Jesus and it felt sooo good….

    Some of us who love music could put on the ear phones and pick a nice praise song and just drink your devotional with the music…This is a feast….. I will go for my second cup now and re-read once more.

    God bless you.

Leave a Reply

